Dane K. Johnson, D.O., FACOS Honored by Colleagues

Dane K. Johnson, D.O., FACOS was honored by his colleagues with the Life Service Award at the 119th Annual Conference of the Iowa Osteopathic Medical Association May 6, 2017. The purpose of the award is to recognize osteopathic physician members of the Iowa Osteopathic Medical Association (IOMA) who have spent the greater part of their lives delivering health care to Iowa’s citizens, utilizing osteopathic practice and principles and model the highest ideals of the profession.

Dr. Johnson is an ACOS Life Member. He graduated from Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1980 and practiced Mt. Ayr, Iowa for over 18 years. A colleague wrote that "[He] has been a strong proponent of osteopathic medicine [and] teacher to osteopathic medical students and residents. He served on various IOMA committees and the IOMA Board of Trustees leading up to his becoming IOMA's president in 2006, and was a delegate to IOMA House of Delegates and the AOA House of Delegates. He became IOMA Speaker of the House in 2010. I cannot thank him enough for being such a strong leader for the profession."

The full press release from IOMA can be viewed below.