2021 ACOS Resident Award Winners
ACOS awarded 8 awards to resident surgeons during the virtual Annual Clinical Assembly. Each year ACOS hosts a resident award competition for the Resident Achievement and Robert C. Erwin Literary Awards. Resident Achievement Awards are awarded to those residents who have demonstrated overall excellence. Winners are selected based on their clinical ability, patient/resident manner, resident/staff relationships, and resident/community involvement. The Robert C. Erwin Literary Awards are awarded to members who have authored outstanding medical research. All award winners receive a plaque and cash award.

The 2021 ACOS Resident Achievement Award Winners are:

Christina Colosimo, D.O.
General Surgery
HCA Sky Ridge Medical Center
Dr. John Weaver, Program Director
  Charles “Trey” Harper, D.O.
General Surgery
KCU – St. Mary’s Medical Center
Christie M. Brock, D.O., M.B.A, FACOS, Program Director

Sydni Jones Imel, D.O.
General Surgery
Mercy Health – St. Vincent Medical Center
Constance P. Cashen, D.O., FACOS, FACS, Program Director

The 2021 ACOS Robert C. Erwin Literary Award Winners are:

Aimee LaRiccia, D.O.
General Surgery
"A Novel Device with Improved Outcomes for Tube Thoracostomy"
1st Place
  Rebecca Houston, D.O.
Neurological Surgery
"The Financial and Radiation Burden of Early Reimaging in Neurosurgical Patients: An Original Study and Systematic Review"
2nd Place
  Paulette Cutruzzula Dreher, D.O.
Urological Surgery
"Socio-environmental conditions associated with geospatial clusters of urothelial carcinoma: A multi-institutional analysis "
3rd Place
  Karin Gunther, D.O.
General Surgery
"Osteopathic Manipulative Therapy as an Adjunct to Postoperative Pain Control for Laparoscopic Gastric Bypass Patients: A Single Institution Retrospective Study"
4th Place
  Abhiram Kondajji, D.O.
General Surgery
"Gastroparesis with Concomitant Gastrointestinal Dysmotility is not a Contraindication for Per-oral Pyloromyotomy (POP)"
5th Place