OGME Corner

Jessika Brown


ACOS Annual Resident Reports

Preparations for ACOS Annual Reports have begun. The review of Annual Reports by the Resident Evaluation and Standards Committee (RESC) is a member benefit. As a reminder, resident non-members of the ACOS for the 2017-2018 training year will be billed a non-member review fee. Annual Reports and all fees are due by June 30th. The portal to accept Annual Reports is scheduled to open in May.

Changes to AOA Section X Policies

Revisions to Section X of the AOA Basic Documents for Postdoctoral Training were published in March. It is important to note:

• AOA programs that have not achieved ACGME accreditation by May 1, 2018, will need to complete a form by June 1, 2018 and receive approval from the Program and Trainee Review Council in order to accept trainees for the 2019-2020 academic year. Determination will be made by PTRC, estimated July 19, 2018.

• Revisions to Section X do not apply to programs 1 or 2 years in length, Surgical Critical Care or General Vascular Surgery, which according to Section X, must apply for ACGME accreditation by Jan. 1, 2019 to accept trainees for the 2019-2020 academic year.

• Programs that have received Continued Pre-Accreditation twice from an ACGME Review Committee are required to utilize the AOA’s Application Assistance Program.

Programs needing assistance should contact the AOA, (312) 202-8272 or singleGME@osteopathic.org.

Osteopathic Recognition

Changes to the requirements for programs to achieve ACGME Osteopathic Recognition were approved in February 2018 and will go into effect July 1, 2018.

Program Accreditation Status

Congratulations to PCOM and Program Director, Thomas Geng, DO, for achieving Initial Accreditation for their Surgical Critical Care program, effective 04/05/2018.

Resident Awards

Program Directors are encouraged to nominate their graduating resident or fellow for a Resident Achievement Award. Resident Achievement Awards are presented annually to up to five outstanding resident members in recognition of their clinical ability, patient/resident manner, resident/staff relationships, and resident/community involvement.

Authored an outstanding scientific manuscript? We encourage residents to submit their manuscript to be eligible to receive the Robert C. Erwin Literary Award. Through a generous grant from the ACOS Trust Fund, award recipients will receive a with a plaque and a cash award for first-fifth place.

Winners in both categories will be presented their awards at the 2018 Annual Clinical Assembly in Atlanta, Georgia. There are no fees to apply for Resident Awards, but your application must be submitted by June 1st. For more information or to apply, visit: Resident Achievement Award or Robert C. Erwin Literary Award

Need assistance or have questions? Please contact: Jessika Brown, Manager, Resident and Program Services, jbrown@facos.org.