Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes ACOS members who unselfishly participate in humanitarian activities. These activities may include voluntary service in the community, state, nationally or internationally.  Two nomination letters from ACOS Fellows must be submitted with the nominee’s curriculum vitae and received by the ACOS no later than February 1st. Nominations are reviewed by the Awards Committee prior to final selection of the winner by the Board of Governors. 

Nominations should be sent to the ACOS office by mail at the address below or by email to Letters should detail the qualities, experience and specific events that exemplify how the nominee has unselfishly participated in humanitarian activities.

Letters may be mailed to ACOS at the following address:
Anerican College of Osteopathic Surgeons
1680 Duke St. Suite 500
Alexandria, VA 22314

Humanitarian Award

Mary K. Boggs, D.O., FACOS



John P. Smith, Jr., D.O., FACOS  2018
Timothy M. Burandt, D.O., FACOS  2017

Mark A. Foglietti, D.O., FACOS


Sharon A. Rooney-Gandy, D.O., FACOS, FACS


Samuel Feinstein, D.O., FACOS


Albert J. LaTorra, D.O., FACOS


John E. Bodell, D.O., FACOS


Harold Bafitis, D.O., FACOS


Willard L. Noyes, D.O., FACOS


Alison A. Clarey, D.O., FACOS


Harris W. Mainster, D.O., FACOS