Deadlines for Fellow Applications and Resident Awards are Near

Fellow Application

April 30 is the deadline to apply for the Fellow designation.

The designation of Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (FACOS) is conferred upon ACOS members, honorary members, and life and retired members in recognition of their voluntary activities and service to advance osteopathic medicine and surgery. Recipients of the FACOS designation have demonstrated their commitment to the practice of surgery, surgical teaching, authorship of professional papers, and participation in local, state, and national organizations. Recipients also have adhered to the professional and ethical standards established by the profession.

You have until April 30 to complete and submit the FACOS application form. You should apply for the FACOS designation if you:

-are certified by an AOA-approved or ABMS-recognized certifying board;

-have proven a commitment to the College through your continued ACOS membership, participation on committees and educational programs;

-have demonstrated a commitment to the profession through participation on hospital, local, state, and national surgical society committees and in surgical residency programs;

-have demonstrated a continued pursuit of knowledge by your participation in CME programs; and

-have demonstrated adherence to the professional and ethical standards as established by the profession.

The complete list of requirements, the ratings guide, and application can be found here.

Resident Awards

June 1, 2018, is the deadline for nominations for Resident Achievement Awards and the submission of papers for the Robert C. Erwin Literary Award.

Resident Achievement Awards are presented annually to up to five outstanding resident members in recognition of their clinical ability, patient/resident manner, resident/staff relationships, and resident/community involvement. These awards may be presented to residents in the general, general vascular, neurological, orthopedic, plastic and reconstructive, cardiothoracic and vascular, and urological surgical specialties. Robert C. Erwin Literary Awards are presented annually to ACOS resident members who have authored outstanding scientific manuscripts. Through a generous grant from the ACOS Trust Fund, all award recipients will be presented with a plaque and a cash award.