For Immediate Release


Contact: Melanie Jones 571-551-2006

Email: [email protected]


American College of Osteopathic Surgeons Announces New Leadership


ALEXANDRIA, VA November 9, 2022: The American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (ACOS) Announces New Officers. The American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (ACOS) is pleased to announce new executive officers for the 2022 - 2023 term:




Kristen J. Conrad-Schnetz, D.O., FACOS, FACS has been elected President-Elect. Dr. Conrad-Schnetz is an Assistant Professor of Surgery with Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine through CWRU Staff, Director, General Surgery Residency, Cleveland Clinic South Pointe Hospital, and Director, Department of Surgery, Cleveland Clinic South Pointe Hospital. Dr. Conrad-Schnetz was previously the Secretary-Treasurer of ACOS. Dr. Conrad-Schnetz is a very active member of the College, serving on multiple committees, working tirelessly on behalf of the College, and consistently engaging with students and residents to help them progress in their surgical careers. She has also hosted the ACOS Women Surgeons Forum for many years during the Annual Clinical Assembly.



J. Bracken Burns, D.O., FACOS, FACS has been elected President-Elect of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons. Prior to his election as ACOS President-Elect, Dr. Burns served on the Board as Governor, representing the General Surgery Discipline.

Dr. Burns is Division Chief of Acute Care Surgery, East Tennessee State University, James H. Quillen College of Medicine and is also a Professor of Surgery. Prior to his appointment as Division Chief, he was Director of Trauma and Critical Care and previously served as Associate Program Director of Surgery Residency. In addition to serving on the ACOS Board of Governors, in 2022 Dr. Burns became Chief Editor of the ACOS Journal Channels on the online Cureus Journal of Medical Science, overseeing and promoting article submissions and publications for the cardiothoracic and vascular, general, neurological, plastic and reconstructive and urological surgery disciplines.





Outgoing President Christopher A. Reeder, Jr., D.O., FACOS, FACS will remain on the ACOS Board of Governors in the position of Past-President. Dr. Reeder is a board-certified plastic surgeon who joined the ACOS as a resident in 1987 and was inducted in 1992. He became a Fellow of the College in 1997. Prior to his current appointment as Dean of the UAG School of Medicine, Dr. Reeder was in private practice for over 30 years and was CEO of a 15-office dermatology practice in Southwest Ohio.



Nelayda Fonte, D.O., FACOS, DFACOS was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Fonte is a general surgeon, specializing in critical care surgery.


The Board of Governors for the 2022 – 2023 term is:

ACOS Officers

Kristen J. Conrad-Schnetz, D.O., FACOS, FACS     President
J. Bracken Burns, Jr., D.O., FACOS                          President-Elect
Christopher A. Reeder, D.O., FACOS, FACS          Past President
Francesco T. Mangano, D.O., FACOS                    At Large Executive Committee
Nelayda Fonte, D.O., FACOS, DFACOS                 Secretary

ACOS Governors

Peter U. Baik, D.O., FACOS                                      Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery Discipline Chair
Alexandra D. Beier, D.O., FACOS                            Neurological Surgery Discipline Chair
Shannon M. Davis, D.O., FACOS                             General Surgery Discipline Chair
Lynne M. McCormick, D.O., FACOS                        Urological Surgery Discipline Chair
Jared C. Storck, D.O., FACOS                                    Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Discipline Chair
Mark W. Byrge, D.O., FACOS                                    Governor (Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery)
Stuart J.D. Chow, D.O., FACOS                                 Governor (General Surgery)
Benjamin Lam, D.O., FACOS                                    Governor (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery)
Andrew S. McCague, D.O., FACOS                          Governor (General Surgery)
Janie L. Myers, D.O., FACOS, FACS                          Governor (General Surgery)
Chad Michael Robbins, D.O., FACOS                      General Surgery Discipline Chair
W. Britt Zimmerman, D.O., FACOS                         Governor (Urological Surgery)
Nicholette M. Black, D.O.                                         Resident Section Chair
Zachary Brennan                                                       Student Section Chair



About the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons

The American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (ACOS) is the organizational home for osteopathic surgeons. Established in 1926, ACOS is committed to promoting excellence in osteopathic surgical care through education, advocacy, leadership development, and the fostering of professional and personal relationships. We provide valuable resources and education, so our members are better equipped to deliver the highest quality of care to their patients. ACOS is headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia.